Skip to content

New Staff for the 2017-18 School Year

It’s been a while since I have blogged. It is a personal goal of mine this year to write more frequently and publicly via this forum. In the past, I have blogged about what standards guide the learning that take place each school year, Facebook’s vision for the future, the dangers of giving a child their own Instagram account too early, and about Walden’s desire to get a SMART Lab in our library (now a reality). I have also used it as a way to introduce new Walden faculty members to the larger community. Given that, as principal, hiring staff members is one of the most important aspects of my job due to the enormity of the direct impact those teachers will have on student achievement, I am proud to introduce the following, highly vetted, new members of the Walden community. Please help me welcome them, as they join one of the best faculties/schools that exists anywhere!

Michael Rodrigo – Assistant Principal 

Hello Walden! I’m Michael Rodrigo, the new Assistant Principal at Walden Elementary. It is an honor and a privilege to join the Walden Community. I grew up in Algonquin, IL and attended school at Illinois State University. After school, I moved to the city to begin my teaching career where I taught second through eighth grade. I have spent the last several years founding and operating a high-performing charter school in the city of Chicago. Aside from teaching, I enjoy working out, baking, and spending time with my friends and family. I’m eager to meet the students and families of the Walden Community and embark on another excellent school year.

Dianne Thoensen – 5th Grade

Hello!  My name is Dianne Thoensen and I am so excited to be the new 5th grade teacher at Walden this fall!  For the past two years, I taught Kindergarten and 4th grade at Saint Mary School in Buffalo Grove.  I graduated from Kenyon College and am currently working towards my Masters in Education with endorsements in ELL and special education.  Aside from teaching, I enjoy running, being with my family and friends, and spending my summers outside at Tamarak Day Camp! I cannot wait to be a part of the Deerfield community!

Laura Ward – 4th Grade

Hi Wildcats! I’m Laura Ward, the new 4th grade teacher at Walden. I graduated from the University of Illinois UrbanaChampaign in 2016. Last year, I taught third grade at Big Hollow Elementary School and am excited to be teaching fourth grade at Walden this year! I grew up in Arlington Heights and am eager to explore and get to know the Deerfield community. Outside of teaching, I enjoy running, reading, and spending time with my friends and family. I am looking forward to working with you and your children this year!

Dana Ruecker – Psychologist 

Hi everyone! I’m Dana Ruecker, the new part time psychologist at Walden. I will be spending half of each week at Walden and the rest of my time at Wilmot. I studied psychology at the University of Iowa during undergrad and recently graduated from Loyola with a degree in school psychology. Outside of school I like to spend time with my friends and family, walk (and chase squirrels) with my dog, read, and travel. I am also a huge Blackhawks fan. I can’t wait to meet all of you and the great kids at Walden!

 

Liz Ballinger – Music

Hi! My name is Liz Ballinger and I’ll be the new music teacher at Walden. I graduated from Roosevelt University in 2013 and this will be my fourth year teaching. I taught in the Boston area for two years and then in Des Plaines this past year. Besides teaching, I enjoy traveling, hiking, going to Cubs games, and spending time with family and friends. I look forward to meeting and working with the students and families of the Walden community!

 

Published inSchool Community

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar